Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey, has anyone has been offered or rejected for a place at Imperial to study Maths?

I had my interview a few weeks ago and I'm still waiting for feedback... are the interviews still going on?

ReputationRep:
    Yea, I've got one on the second of March, so they're still going through the interviews...

ReputationRep:
    I am thinking of applying next year. If you have had an interview, do you mind telling me what they asked you at the interview? Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    I had my interview a couple of weeks ago too... Heard nothing yet...

During the interview they just asked maths questions really...

eg:
    differentiate y=x^x
    series question sum of n x n!

also asked me a bit about my "self taught" as level in further maths

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by S1M)
    I had my interview a couple of weeks ago too... Heard nothing yet...

During the interview they just asked maths questions really...

eg:
    differentiate y=x^x
    series question sum of n x n!
    Do you log both sides and then differentiate? I suppose so.

lny = x lnx

y'/y = lnx + 1

y' = y(lnx + 1)

y' = (x^x)ln x +x^x

or am I being stupid because it's so late and I've got to do a stupid chem paper?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Yannis)
    Do you log both sides and then differentiate? I suppose so.

lny = x lnx

y'/y = lnx + 1

y' = y(lnx + 1)

y' = (x^x)ln x +x^x

or am I being stupid because it's so late and I've got to do a stupid chem paper?
    that does work, although the way I'd write the right hand side as: then i don't have to bother with differentiating the ln y.

x^x = e^(x ln x)

dy/dx = (ln x + 1) e^(x ln x)
    = x^x + x^x (ln x)

i've got an unconditional to Imperial...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 4Ed)
    that does work, although the way I'd write the right hand side as: then i don't have to bother with differentiating the ln y.

x^x = e^(x ln x)

dy/dx = (ln x + 1) e^(x ln x)
    = x^x + x^x (ln x)