Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello Everyone.

Long Time No Post.

Anyway, I was wondering what you thought my chances are of getting into Cambridge to study Economics. I have achieved the following grades.

GCSE: 5 x A* - Maths, German, French, Economics, Chemistry
    6 x A - Eng Lang + Lit, Physics, Biology, Art, Religious Studies

I also have FSMQ Additional Maths at Grade B

I am studying the following for AS Level.

Economics - Predicted A for A2
    German - Predicted B for A2
    English Language - Predicted B for A2
    French - Predicted C/B for A2

It is my intention to drop French, leaving me with ABB currently. I believe that were I to put in some more effort, this could rise to AAB, with a B for AS French.

I think however, that my strengths lie in the extracurricular stuff that I do.

I will have at time of application:

1st XV Rugby
    2nd XI Cricket
    2nd XI Football
    Duke of Edinburgh Gold
    Young Enterprise - Operations Director
    Sports Contibrutor to Annual School Publication
    Editor of German Magazine
    Piano Grade 5
    Guitar Grade 5
    Won Scholarship to attend Oxford Law Conference
    Sixth Form Committee Representative

My school is going to overlook me as far as taking me to see Cambridge, as my predicted grades are not good enough. If I go and look around myself, what colleges is it worth looking at for Economics?

Do you think I stand much of a chance of getting in?

Are there any other factors that I could look into to boost my chances?

ReputationRep:
    Well...possibly but without the top grades of AAA and no Maths even at AS level, I would say its unlikely.

However, you may be fantastic at economics and have a strong anayltical/critical mind - but the majority of econ. applicants I imagine will have at the minimum AS Maths.

Perhaps you would be better looking at a joint degree with econ. that usually doesn't have so much emphasis on Maths.

ReputationRep: