The Student Room Group

I have no work experience. What are the chances of getting into a good university?

Hi,
I have a problem which is that I have no work experience, and I don't think I'll get any before the UCAS submission deadline.

I'm generally hoping to get into Oxford to study Physics but I know they expect some work experience. The problem I've been having is that there are generally no relevant placements in my local area that I can do which are relevant to Physics.

Knowing I have no work experience, how will this this affect my university application. I have other types of 'physics' experience:
- I'm undergoing a 'research' week organised by myself in which I research into the basic concepts of general relativity as well as looking into some of the more complicated concepts in Mechanics
- I teach Physics to a group of Yr8 students
- I'm quite good at Physics :P Predicted A at AS (+ achieved full marks in the first physics exam in January)
- I do other subjects which help with Physics (Maths, F.maths, Electronics and Chemistry)
- I've self-studied all of the Mechanics (Maths) Modules and plan to study M3 next year.
- Did a Oxford, Somerville college 'physics' study day (which wasn't that good to be honest). I've tried to book Physics lectures but I'm always late in finding out about them. However, I always watch Physics lectures that I can find on the internet when I have time.
- I've read quite a few physics books :smile:

I don't know if I'm being too optimistic and if I am, please tell me. If I can't get into Oxford, then do you think I have a chance at Imperial, UCL or Surrey?

Thank's for reading this post. :smile:
(edited 11 years ago)
Reply 1
The study day and teaching younger students will definitely count as good work experience - just make sure that you play them up a bit in your PS.

Don't put all this stuff on your PS anyway, it'll take up way too much space and you're pretty limited on how much you can fit in there already.