The Student Room Group

Graduated with a shoddy job...jeakous

Hi All,

I'm feeling depressed with regards to post-graduation. I achieved 4As at A-level in Econ, Maths, F.Maths and History. Then I went on to read Economics at University of Manchester and had completed internships and had prior experience.

However I have not managed to find myself a graduate job, I seemed to always mess up in the assessment centre or final interview. I have found a job in Manchester for a private bank as a trainee on about £28k. Though I have friends who have gained jobsi in investment banks and firms in London on £38-45k + bonus.

It just makes me feel really depressed and jealous!!

Advice? :frown:

Scroll to see replies

Fisrtworldproblems.jpg
Honestly you need a good smack.
:rolleyes: OP, I graduated 2years ago, working two measly jobs to barely scrap £450 a month! Thank your lucky stars you've even got a job with what I would deem in my eyes, a very good annual income.

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App
Original post by Silver Arrow
Fisrtworldproblems.jpg
Honestly you need a good smack.

This.

I am seriously depressed as I've graduated and am working in a crap job, not relevant with no progression and hand to mouth wages. A good few of my friends are too. You are in training in an area you want to go into with a £28k start... And I know it's all relative and that, but when you have finished training, you will have experience and be earning more. You mightn't have had the same quick start of your friends but you are a LOT better off than most.
Stop comparing yourself to others, you've got a job paying a good wage in the middle of a recession, just chill out a bit!
Reply 5
Be happy you've got a job (and a very good paying one) in this current economic climate.
Reply 6