Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    hi everyone! this is my first time posting... anyway...

i have to choose my a level subjects within the next two weeks and i'm completly confused as to what would be benificial to me.

i had thought about:
    music
    bio
    physics
    ICT (or) french

my careers teacher said its unlikely i'd get to do nething wonderful with music other than teach it lol.
    i didnt do ict at gcse but u can pick it up for a lvls but once again, the careers teacher said it would be uinlikely that there would be enough places to allow new comers in.
    ALSO
    i read somwhere that the rush of pupils doing their alvls etc in ICT dont really have jobs because there are too many qualified IT people out there.

any help would be extremely appreciated

ReputationRep:
    I managed an A in ICT without doing th GCSE...its an easy subject and hence isn't worth all that much. I would recommend doing the french, and perhaps maths instead of music.

ReputationRep:
    thanks for the reply.
    i understand were ur coming from with the french instead of ICT, and i think your right.
    but as for the music/maths. i've been entered for intermediate maths level at gcse because im in a low class because there were too many people going into the high classes and now more space was left (this goes for about 5 of us in this class). the highest i can get is a B and im guessing to go ahead with a math subject, you would be needing a's?

ReputationRep:
    French is generally considered a lot more tricky than ICT. You'd be better off doing a proper Computing A level if you were into that sort of thing, but French is definitely a good and well respected qualification. I'd definitely go with that anyway (although I am terrible at French myself!)