The Student Room Group

Is this a decent gaming PC?

Hello esteemed members of TSR.

I'm rather new to the world of PC gaming, having been a console luddite for the last several years. I'm more a casual gamer, so don't need games on maxed out settings, but I would like to play games like the Witcher 2 so that they look reasonably attractive and smooth.

Having done a bit of research I'm ready to make the jump into PC gaming, but was hoping if someone with a bit more experience could help me out first.

Here's the specs of the PC I plan on buying:

Intel Core i5 2500K 3.30GHz
ATI Radeon HD 7850, 2048MB Graphics Card
8GB DDR3 RAM
500GB HDD Hard Drive

Question 1) Is the above a good gaming PC? Are there any games out there today that this sytem would have trouble with?

Question 2) What's the approximate lifespan of a machine like this before it begins to struggle with newly released games?

Question 3) Is the above system a bit over-kill for my needs? How much would I be limiting myself if I were to downgrade to a slower processor (i3 2500K) and an older graphics card (HD 6850)?

Thanks in advance. Most helpful answers get a few points of positive rep, for whatever that's worth.
Reply 1
Looks fine.

1. Crysis 2 , Battlefield 3 only on insane settings (fully maxed + 2560 x 1600).

2. 1 - 2 years then upgrade the GPU.

3. No the faster cpu is worth it.

It also depends on the resolution of your monitor.
(edited 11 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by JohnnytheFox
Hello esteemed members of TSR.

I'm rather new to the world of PC gaming, having been a console luddite for the last several years. I'm more a casual gamer, so don't need games on maxed out settings, but I would like to play games like the Witcher 2 so that they look reasonably attractive and smooth.

Having done a bit of research I'm ready to make the jump into PC gaming, but was hoping if someone with a bit more experience could help me out first.

Here's the specs of the PC I plan on buying: