Hi, not to be corny or anything but HELP! :)

Watch
This discussion is closed.
violagrrl
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
Hi, I was randomly on a search for something and I came across this forum that has so far been really useful, but I need to ask people a question:

Basically I am in year 11 in a state school doing 13 GCSE's (wishing it was less!) And I am starting to think about universities, (mainly on the fact that this time next year I will be visiting them) and so my parents and careers person want me to look at Oxbridge. After looking at the website I have decided to aim to go to a college in Oxford. So I was wondering what advice people would give me to get a 'head start' on things. I am going to be studying either Modern History or a joint in Ancient and modern.

Currently I have a subscription for BBC History magazines, I have just started to read history related books, (the first is by David Low, entitled 'Years of Wrath' which includes many of the cartoons used in source questions in my exam.) I am also going to two different museums in the holidays for extra work experience, ones a general history centre and the other is a heritage centre of my area.

So could people give me advice on what other things I could do, or useful books, or general hints, thank you,

Rachel
fred86
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by violagrrl)
Hi, I was randomly on a search for something and I came across this forum that has so far been really useful, but I need to ask people a question: