SubAtomic
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi, so I am studying something on quadratic curves, the book doesn't ask me to do it but I like to know where they go from one formula to another. If I was a cat I would be dead

So just a quick confirmation really,

\displaystyle \tan (2 \theta)= \dfrac{B}{A-C}

Can be obtained by rearranging and manipulating

\displaystyle (C-A) \sin (2 \theta)+ B \cos(2 \theta)=0

Tried it but I got as far as

\displaystyle \dfrac{ \sin (2 \theta)}{ \cos (2 \theta)}= \dfrac{-B}{C-A}

So I assume that

\displaystyle \dfrac{-B}{C-A}=\dfrac{B}{A-C}

or would that be a wrong assumption?

Ignore me I just subbed some numbers in and can see it seems to work
nuodai
Badges: 14
Report 7 years ago
Your assumption is correct. It's because C-A=-(A-C), and so the minus signs cancel.
TenOfThem
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by SubAtomic)

So I assume that

\displaystyle \dfrac{-B}{C-A}=\dfrac{B}{A-C}

You know that you can multiply the numerator and denominator of a fraction by the same number and the fraction remains the same ... yes?

In this case you have multiplied by -1
SubAtomic
Rep:
?
(Original post by TenOfThem)
You know that you can multiply the numerator and denominator of a fraction by the same number and the fraction remains the same ... yes?

In this case you have multiplied by -1
Yep, one thing goes in one thing escapes, hopefully am swapping for better things though. Don't know what I was thinking I like reassurance too much. Bit fried from all the A' B' C' u^2 uv v^2 sincos sin^2 cos^2 etc etc

Thank you both for clarifying:cool:
SubAtomic
Rep:
?
Not double angle I know but how does this work, don't get how the last line is equal to the second.

\displaystyle \dfrac{1-\cos \theta}{ \theta} \\ \\ = \dfrac{2 \sin^2( \frac{1}{2} \theta)}{ \theta}  \\ \\ = \left( \dfrac{\sin (\frac{1}{2} \theta)}{ (\frac{1}{2} \theta)}\right)^2 \times \left(\frac{1}{2} \theta \right)