nur123
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Does anyone study Physics at the OU? How is it?

I can't find much information about the subjects, exams...

Which books do you use? How are the exams? How is it to study online? Do you study the same contents at the OU and at other universities? Which subjects do you have to study?
-G-a-v-
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
I don't do physics with the OU (I have a physics degree from a brick uni), but you can get copies of exam papers from the OUSA web shop. The main physics course is S207 The Physical World. I had a look at a paper out of interest more than anything, it looks like they cover much the same work as I did in first/second year.

You'll also need some maths courses in addition to the physics. MST121 and MS221 are good. MST209 is the big one that will be of most use.

I've not looked at many of the level 3 physics courses, but quantum mechanics and electromagnetism are the two main cornerstones of physics, so you'll need both of those, I don't know exactly how similar the OU physics degree would be compared to one at a brick uni - the thing to remember is that there's no prerequistes to get going with the OU, so they start at a slightly lower level than first year undergrad (a level 1 maths course that I took, MST121, covered content largely on A-level Mathematics, for example) work, so S207 looks to be a mixture of work I covered in first and second year.
daviesblue
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago