Advice for getting vac schemes/training contracts next year Watch

Phantom_X
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi Guys,

I am currently about to enter my third year at university, where I am currently reading for a degree in History. I finished with 67% in year 2, which though is good, i think i could have done a lot better- My general profile so far is;

International Baccalaureate- 36 points overall (after winter session resit, previous total was 32)

Degree at York, low first in year 1, 67% year 2- due to one exam performance , currently still predicted a first overall.

Achievements include : setting up a law society in the 6th form, elected onto the student senate at university, awarded a scholarship to study at Hong Kong university during summer 2012 (currently nearing completion), member and events co-ordinator on the debate team, member of the judo team and freelance writer for the main campus newspapers and publications.

I've had some legal work experience on high street firms. Also worked in brand consultancy and as a historical researcher at the British Museum's levantine archaeology department.

I didn't get any vac scheme offers last year, so i was wondering what might have gone wrong in my application, or what could be done to improve it? I've been told that next year i should get more involved with the university law society, and perhaps write a few papers for some law journals?

all help app
suffocation1992
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
You sound as though you have a very enviable CV.

~ Try to do some Open Days at commercial law firms as evidence of your 'commitment to law'. They can be used in the work experience section of vac scheme or training contract application forms.

~ Volunteering would look good.

~ Try to get a job - even a summer job! It doesn't look as though you have ever worked in the real world - some law firms won't care but many will like to see candidates who have.
yl_llb
Badges: 0
Rep:
?