The Student Room Group

Japanese GCSE (Edexcel): oral exam + which textbooks?

Hi. I'm studying with a view to taking GCSE Japanese (Edexcel) exams next June. I'll be sitting them as a private candidate and so have to teach myself the course. I've been learning on-and-off for a few years, dipping in and out of various textbooks, but my knowledge is pretty disparate.

Most textbooks cover roughly the same stuff, but at different levels of depth and difficulty, and I'm aware it's quite possible I could fail the GCSE simply from using a textbook that fails to cover a crucial area because it's focusing more on business-Japanese, or something. I don't really know how much material the GCSE covers, either, or which kanji i'm expected to be able to read/write at this level. Past papers I've seen have some in, but I don't know how extensively. Textbooks are all different; Book 1 of Japanese for Busy People, for example, uses none, whereas Genki expects you to read quite a lot from the start, but not to write them, and provides the furigana throughout in case you're lazy. Separate kanji books cherry-pick the 'first 100', and it varies hugely depending on the authors. Kanji don't come easily to me, and I'm afraid of wasting hours learning ones I don't need yet. I don't know if I'd lose marks for being able to write kanji they don't expect me to know but not the ones they do, etc.. I'm very very lost ':smile:

I'm also confused about plain/polite styles of speech, and when in the exams I'll be using each. JfBP would have you believe the plain style doesn't exist for most of the first volume, making verb conjugation needlessly confusing, whereas Genki throws you right in with both at the start.