Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,

I'm looking for some simple exercises I can do to get a slimmer and firmer bottom half! I'm a size 8, 5'6, roughly 8.5-9 stone. Fairly fit and healthy, just want my thighs and bum to be more toned.

I'm off to uni in September and will be joining the swimming pool and gym on campus, so advice on equipment would be useful as well as tips on exercises I can do myself at home.

:rolleyes:

ReputationRep:
    Any help would be huuuuugely appreciated

ReputationRep:
    Squats of course! But swimming is really good fun and tones everywhere.

ReputationRep:
    If you want to work on your bum/thighs then squats are always a winning exercise. Squats with low weights (or just your bodyweight) and a high number of reps (as opposed to high weight low reps) should help you tone, although I'm no expert and you're probably best off asking an instructor at your gym.

Hope that helps.

ReputationRep:
    Squat. A weight you find challenging for 3 sets of 5 reps.

Spend a lot of time learning the form, it's quite a complex lift to get perfect.

(Original post by CocoPop)
    If you want to work on your bum/thighs then squats are always a winning exercise. Squats with low weights (or just your bodyweight) and a high number of reps (as opposed to high weight low reps) should help you tone, although I'm no expert and you're probably best off asking an instructor at your gym.

Hope that helps.
    Normally high reps would be better for size but: girls aren't going to put on much muscle either way so the proportional difference between high and low reps isn't as big as it is for guys and squats have a long ROM which helps to develop size due to the time spent under the bar.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tooosh)