Questions about finance internships. Watch

freeharddrive
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I've done well academically so far in life but nothing crazy by TSR standards. I've only just recently figured out the importance of internships. I've also noticed that a lot of them are finance based, and I know nothing about finance. I'm an undergraduate with a two more summers after this one before I graduate.

1.What is the best way to do research when applying for these roles? The companies' actual websites or wikipedia or where?

2. Are there any books that you would consider 100 % essential reading?

3. What is the best way to answer the application form/interview questions like "Why are you interested in job X?" Does everyone just lie and say it's their lifelong dream? What, in general, do companies want me to say? I always hear that mentioning money is a major turn off.

4. How do you practice for the online tests? The only type I'm worried about is the one with the shape patterns where you have to complete the sequences.

5. Is it even worth applying for investment banker roles if I haven't been working on my CV since primary school? Is it too competitive to bother with? I'd be boastful enough to say my academic achievements are really good, but I spend my free time doing stuff like reading or going to the gym, whereas I see other people do things that are more productive ("In my free time I win medals in cricket and raise money for poor children etc"). Do I have no chance against them?

6. What are the best websites to look at when trying to improve my answers to the parts of the job application where they judge you (cover letter, competency questions)?

Thanks in advance for any replies.
patelanisha
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by freeharddrive)