Is anyone else taking a gap year before doing a pgce? Watch

Vitalite21
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I'm so upset I left it to late to apply to a pgce. The place where I applied to a pgce in post compulsory at first told me I would be able to do do English then tried to force me into doing skills for life literacy and esol. I'm not doing that because all I want to teach english to sixth form students but apparently I cant because although I have an English Degree I only have As English and colleges would mind.

I dont know what job I want to do for now. I dont want to go into retail. Its just not me. I feel so depressed and upset. Is there anyone in the same situation as me? Where are you guys applying and what are you looking to do before you start (hopefully after getting on) your pgce next year?
tommytenmen
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
I'm no expert, by any means, but I wouldn't think that your A Levels would bother any prospective employer too much. You've proven you have subject knowledge by gaining a degree and you've proven you can teach by passing your PGCE and gaining QTS. By this point for them to say "She's qualified in every sense... but wait, she didn't do A2 English, ditch her!" would be very petty.