How would you define the 'New Right'?

Watch
Off To The Races
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
For me I'm confused as to what the difference is between the New Right and standard conservatism. Is the 'New Right' a branch of conservatism? Is it a political ideology? Could someone/people please explain for me without using a load of big words I won't understand? I'm studying it in sociology and so would really like to define it succinctly but not too simplistically.
Machtpolitik
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Do you mean New Right, as in Margaret Thatcher and the Chicago School, or New Right as in the Nouvelle Droite/Neue Rechte ideological tendencies on the continent?
ANARCHY__
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by Machtpolitik)
Do you mean New Right, as in Margaret Thatcher and the Chicago School, or New Right as in the Nouvelle Droite/Neue Rechte ideological tendencies on the continent?
So the OP is confused as to the meaning of New Right. Your solution is to bombard him with political terms he will likely have no comprehension of.

lol
Aspiringlawstudent
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by ANARCHY__)
So the OP is confused as to the meaning of New Right. Your solution is to bombard him with political terms he will likely have no comprehension of.

lol
Chuckled a bit at this.

OP: do you mean what might be termed 'the libertarian right'?

People like Ron Paul, for example?

Or do you mean something else?
wwelol
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
david cameron
privatisation
ANARCHY__
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by Aspiringlawstudent)
Chuckled a bit at this.

OP: do you mean what might be termed 'the libertarian right'?

People like Ron Paul, for example?

Or do you mean something else?
Guessing he means Thatcherite and/or influence of the Chicago School on British politics just because it's in this forum but I could be wrong; OP did say he/she was confused.
Off To The Races
Rep:
?