Why can't i get a weekend job?

Watch
TSR George
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
I've been trying to get a weekend job for a year now.

I don't know what else to do, I can't get anything!

It is my first job, are they just throwing away my CV because i have no experience?
Last edited by RK; 7 months ago
JordanS94
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
I am like this, but my friends are going uni this year which means it's time to start applying for their jobs
At least I know before most people, getting there early and hopefully get one I am sick and tired of job hunting but at least I know there are jobs going in a lot of places
...mo...
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
I also feel a bit scared that my lack of experience is going to hold me back
Rarrgh
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Maybe aiming to high. I don't know where you apply to but many people I know have gone round trying to get jobs and can't get any but when I ask who they apply to they'll name all the high street shops they like and when I ask if they have attempted applying at McDonald's or places like that they turn there nose down at it like they (who have never worked a day and are just starting off in the working world) are too good for those jobs. But in fact no one is.

If however you have been applying to literally everywhere and not just picking and choosing then get some people to go over you CV. There might be something wrong with it that you thought made no difference.

If your CV is fine then unfortunately your just unlucky, some people can look and look and never get a job, the main thing is to just keep at it and eventually you'll get one.
Alexandra's Box
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Try volunteering in a charity shop for a bit while you look to get some retail experience.
ilickbatteries
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago