Turn on thread page Beta

English / Modern Languages watch

ReputationRep:
    Aimed towards anyone studing English or Modern Lanuages at Oxbridge, what did you do for your A levels? This might sound a bit weird but I'm just wondering what are the average A levels that people on these courses have studied.

Thanks

B

ReputationRep:
    i did art, english & religious studies. and biology at a/s that i failed :rolleyes:

ReputationRep:
    I almost applied for this course, so tried to gear my A-Levels toward it: English, German, Latin, Maths and Economics, and then Further Maths and French to AS. I've since been told by my tutor that I really didn't need to do that many...

ReputationRep:
    I'll hopefully be studying Modern Languages in October and my A-levels are French, English lit, history and sociology. I'm also taking AEA French and self-taught GCSE Spanish.

ReputationRep:
    A2 - french, history, economics
    AS - Italian and Chemistry

ReputationRep:
    I'm doing French, RS and Maths. Did History and Chinese at AS. Plus the all-important General Studies A level...

ReputationRep:
    i did english lit, history , govt. and politics, and latin at AS level, and am off to do english

ReputationRep:
    I am doing quite 'random' A-levels (I have no idea what I want to do with my life). English Lit, Philosophy, Geography and Media. I have used English Lit in Philosophy and vice versa, but none of the other subjects seem to have crossovers with others.

ReputationRep:
    English Literature, History, French and RS (Philosophy&Ethics)
    Took Maths (Mechanics) to AS. Quite miss the maths, but really this is the perfect combination, in my opinion hem hem. Told my interviewers that I gave maths up at A2 to allow more time for more reading, and that seemed to go down well :rolleyes:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by brimstone)