Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Guys, thanks for reading this thread and please excuse my ignorance or lack of knowledge about IB.

A bit about my background

I’m a first year research student (aged 22) undertaking a research (PhD) project in the field of Computational Economics (more specifically Macroeconomic Modelling and Forecasting) from the University of Sheffield (I know it’s not a top 5 uni, but I couldn’t financially afford to go elsewhere like LSE). Prior to that, I completed BSc Mathematics and Computer Science from the same uni. I was awarded a very high 2.1 dual hons (border first) degree and came top of my cohort degree class.

I would be extremely grateful if you enlighten me on the following questions:

• What’s the demand for PhD candidates in the City especially in IB, what role do they play, how much do they get (in monetary terms) in comparison to other posts within IB? What is a typical City career path for someone like me?
    • My supervisor is a Mathematician; he wants me to solely focus on my theoretical research and frowns upon the idea of seeking for an City internship etc. What shall I do in regards to that? How important is it to seek an internship? When do I actively seek for an internship? After completion of my PhD, do I bother taking an MSc in Financial Economics from a top 5 uni like LSE or Oxford?

Many thanks guys!

ReputationRep:
    You'll already be holding a PhD and intend to take a MSc? Wouldn't that be like taking a step backwards?

AFAIK IB jobs have no special demand for PhD holders (who are obviously academia/research focused), but that definitely cannot hurt your application. It might give it that added boost as a matter of fact.

ReputationRep:
    IB jobs have no special demand for PhD holders