Turn on thread page Beta

I am a language arts teacher in San Diego, California, and I am working on a master's degree in
    educational administration. Having just returned from a wonderful holiday in London (what an
    incredible city!), I am writing a paper discussing education in the UK. It seems that every country
    has an education "language," and I am having some difficulty decoding yours! While we have
    "kindergarten," "elementary school," "junior high," and "high school," I see that the labels are
    quite different in the UK. Would someone please take a moment to point me to an online resource or
    answer a few of my questions? I would appreciate your help so much!

Questions:

What is the breakdown of the various levels before university? What ages are the students at the
    various levels? For example, in America we have kindergarten (age 5), elementary (ages 6-12, broken
    down into grades 1-6), junior high (ages 12-14, grades 8 and 9), and high school (ages 14-18, grades
    9-12 also called freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior years).

How is English taught in England? In the United States we are moving away from teaching grammar as
    such (nouns, verbs, lists of helping verbs and prepositions, etc.). Do you continue to teach
    diagraming? At what level do you stop teaching grammar?

Language arts teachers in the United States are required to teach writing, reading, literature,
    grammar, vocabulary, and spelling, all within the same class period (50 minutes). Do British
    teachers have more time to teach these skills?

What are "A Level" and "O Level" exams?

At what age are students allowed to leave school? Is there an exit exam? What must a student do to
    get into a good university?

What is a typical school day schedule for teenaged students in the UK? For example, my 14-year-old
    students have seven 50-minute classes and a 30-minute lunch. We start each day at 7:40 and end at