Appealing my exclusion from Lancaster University Watch

PocketPiece
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I am a 2nd year student at Lancaster studying Economics, I failed 3 of the 8 units that I did resits for.

You had to get 9 in those units. The requirements to proceeding to 3rd year are:-

• To proceed to the final year of a Bachelors with honours degree all students must achieve, following all opportunities for reassessment, an overall aggregation score of 9 with no more than 30 credits condoned
• When all the results of all reassessments relating to the second year of a three-year Bachelors Hons degree programme or in the second or third year of a four-year Bachelors Hons degree or Integrated Masters degree are available, the overall profile will be reviewed by the relevant examining bodies and up to 30 credits may be condoned where the aggregation score is between 5 and 9. No module may be condoned with an aggregation score of less than 5, nor may any module be condoned if a student has not attempted reassessment.

Each module unit is 15 credits, so I can only be condoned for 2 units but I failed 3.

My marks were 8.6 for Econ 211, 8.8 for Econ 221 and 8.8 for Econ 227.

I am gutted and devastated that I missed my opportunity to proceed into the 3rd year but what is worse is that I am getting kicked out of the university.

This is the complete letter I received:-

"As you will be aware from viewing your results online, you are not qualified to continue with the next year of your studies. This is because you have failed to meet the progression requirements. To remind you those requirements are :
• To proceed to the final year of a Bachelors with honours degree all students must achieve, following all opportunities for reassessment, an overall aggregation score of 9 with no more than 30 credits condoned