This discussion is closed.
Tori96
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
I'm currently studying for my AS levels (English literature, history, psychology and Biology) but I'm thinking about going to med school. Somebody mentioned that you can do and extra year at med school to make up for the lack of a chemistry A level, can you really do this?:confused::confused:
Starrstruck
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Nope, chemistry is essential(from what I've heard)
daniya12
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
it is a requirement for most Universities that a medical applicant do Chemistry as an A level, maybe some don't? check the requirements for some Unis, see what subjects they require- this should answer your question. I dont know about the extra year, but I believe Chemistry is most definitely required, at least at the majority of unis
Have you just started AS, maybe its not too late to switch one of your subjects for Chemistry (not Biology), you'd have some catch up work to do, but not too much.
If you are thinking about changing your choices, do it quick, as later on it will be to late to change it
1overcosc
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
A few places ask for biology OR chemistry (I know Newcastle do this) and this is the usual A100 5 year course there is also a medicine degree with a foundation year but I don't know if they are for people with no science A Levels or if you are allowed one
emma3
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Chemistry is essential. You're not too far into your first year, so I'd say pick up Chemistry for a bit, see if you like it (and can hack it) - If not, then drop it and forget med school. If you do like it, I'd pick it up and then drop psychology or something
Ingenting
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago