Gravitaional potential energy/ absoute potential energy Watch

tom.draper95
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Im currently studying in year 13 A2 level physics, and need extra info on a certain topic.

Would I be able to get a definition of absolute potential energy, and maybe a brief explanation of why at infinite distance, this absolute potential is supposed to be equal to zero and how it becomes negatively larger as an object moves towards the Earth, for example. I thought abit of outside explanation might make me look at it from a different perspective.

Thank you.
Stonebridge
Badges: 10
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by tom.draper95)
Im currently studying in year 13 A2 level physics, and need extra info on a certain topic.

Would I be able to get a definition of absolute potential energy, and maybe a brief explanation of why at infinite distance, this absolute potential is supposed to be equal to zero and how it becomes negatively larger as an object moves towards the Earth, for example. I thought abit of outside explanation might make me look at it from a different perspective.

Thank you.

Welcome to TSR and thanks for the interesting question.

Potential energy is defined as being zero at infinity.

In physics, energy is something that can move from place to place and be transformed to other types. eg kinetic, heat, light etc.
In many cases, it's the change in energy, the amount of energy that has been transformed or moved, that is important; not the absolute amount.

Potential energy in a force field is something that changes if the object moves. This potential energy will be converted into some other form. For example, it is converted into kinetic energy when an object "falls".
What's actually important is the transfer or change in energy.
You could actually put the zero of potential energy anywhere you wanted, but it seems logical to place it at infinity where the force is also zero. (This is the case for the inverse square law).