Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I was chatting to some people at work today and i was shocked at the negative way which they talked about germans. I am studying alevel german, and hoping to do german as part of my degree next year, i have visited germany on 3 occasions and have found the germans to be really nice.

Can it be that some people still havent got over the war? Or that their parents indoctrinated them to think germans were bad? It seems that germans, out of all countires, get the most stick from the Brits.

At my school only 3 people took alevel german when i did, and the following year nobody took it as an AS level, ive heard the same story from many other schools.

Why do people hate germans?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ladyluck)
    I was chatting to some people at work today and i was shocked at the negative way which they talked about germans. I am studying alevel german, and hoping to do german as part of my degree next year, i have visited germany on 3 occasions and have found the germans to be really nice.

Can it be that some people still havent got over the war? Or that their parents indoctrinated them to think germans were bad? It seems that germans, out of all countires, get the most stick from the Brits.

At my school only 3 people took alevel german when i did, and the following year nobody took it as an AS level, ive heard the same story from many other schools.

Ze germans ar ere. I should imagine that those whom lost a lot of their family during the two major conflicts still harbour some bitterness and resentment.

ReputationRep:

i find germans very strong-minded, i also study a-level German. I have to say that i find it difficult to be a great friend with a German

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by piginapoke)
    I don't, they have excellent beer and sausages.
    and the famous Oktoberfest

ReputationRep: