Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I did apply to do an MSci in NATSCI when I applied for tut university. I still wish to do this, well, as much as I want to do anything else...

However, im a little concerned for the upcoming exams, especially physics where I could fail possibly... and want to know that even if I do get my 40%, are there special conditions to be able to continue on and do the masters??? LIke do I have to get a higher grade or something this year??

I just became paranoid of this possibility, because 1. my friend from another uni seems to have been told this is the case for her and 2. We werent told anything similar. Then again, we werent told the day of our collections till 2 days before. 3. I have no faith in the organisation of Durham university.

Holla back, yall.

ReputationRep:
    I'm a social scientist but my housemates are all scientists. From what I gather if you're already on the MSc or whatever then to make sure you don't get dropped down to BSc you have to get at least 50% average each year.
    So I guess if you wanted to switch from BSc to MSc you'd have to have an average above 50%?

ReputationRep:
    In science apart from engineeering you need 40% to pregress regardless of what you want to do after, it's only in the 2nd year you need to get 50% if you wish to continue to a masters also if you don't get 40% in all your modules you can retake some in the summer (this isnt uncommon) and then they let you carry on

ReputationRep:
    This is the system as i understand it (though i may be wrong):

You need 40% average every year, if you get less than 50% in any year you may be advised to change to the 3 year but they can't force you since you passed.

I think you can only resit one module, if you fail one you will be made to resit and if you fail the resit be forced onto the 3-year and if you pass will be allowed to stay on the 4-year.