Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm thinking of studying philosophy at university but I'm not sure if I'm doing the right sort of A levels.

Fro my AS's I'm studying Maths, Further Maths, Physics, Music and History.

I worked out that the only subject I can drop next year is History, however this is my only essay subject (which is one of the reasons why I picked it) if I drop it will it hinder my chances of getting a place to study Philosophy at one of the top university's?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Bebop)
    I'm thinking of studying philosophy at university but I'm not sure if I'm doing the right sort of A levels.

I worked out that the only subject I can drop next year is History, however this is my only essay subject (which is one of the reasons why I picked it) if I drop it will it hinder my chances of getting a place to study Philosophy at one of the top university's?
    why is history the only subject you can drop?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Bebop)

Yes it would, you need your essay subject to A2 definitely.

Have you thought about a joint Maths and Philosophy course?

ReputationRep:
    Damn it sounds like I'm going to have to keep all of them on.

Basically the subjects I'm interested in stufying at uni are Music, Physics or Philosophy. I would like to go to the Royal College of Music if my playing is good enough, but I also need Music A level to get in. In the likely chance I'm rejected I would want to do physics but to do that I need Maths so I need them both at A2. This means the only subject I could drop would be history. Only recently I've become interested in Philosophy.

I only picked history (aside from hating English) because I though it was important to keep up my essay skills and incase anything like this happened. Ideally i would be nice to lessen the work load next year but it seems that won't happen.

My situation.

ReputationRep: