Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    i got 2A* 2A's and 6B's at gcse im currently doing 4 AS predicted 3A In maths geog and economics and B In history. i did my C1 exams in january and got 100/100. howeva i got an A in my gcse maths. can i get into bristol mathematics and economics or LSE? i am an international student do i have more of a chance?

ReputationRep:
    Your GCSEs are on the weak side, but your 'A' level subjects are decent. It's really up in the air. What are your ECs like?

Regarding the international student part, you probably have an edge, but a very marginal one. To be honest I know of 3 people who applied for L101 at Economics this year (from Singapore), and all 3 were rejected despite having perfect grades and AEA awards.

ReputationRep:
    i organise a maths homework club in lower school, play as captain in my school basketball team, i do some volunteer work in my local credit union. is dat helpful i really wanna go to LSE or bristol should i take F MATHS? my school doesnt do it but my neighbour says she will teach me( she is a maths teacher with a first from bham) it will look like self study and hopefully i can get a B grade.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by talentless)
    i got 2A* 2A's and 6B's at gcse im currently doing 4 AS predicted 3A In maths geog and economics and B In history. i did my C1 exams in january and got 100/100. howeva i got an A in my gcse maths. can i get into bristol mathematics and economics or LSE? i am an international student do i have more of a chance?
    If you write a good personal statement and have a good reference, I would say there is a very good chance you get an offer from Bristol (don't know about LSE). And yes, being an international student will heavily work in your favour.

ReputationRep:
    You ideally want to be predicted 4 As. You should see if you can pull some strings.

ReputationRep:
    ...should i take F MATHS?