This discussion is closed.
wannabEconomist
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
hi
i will quite likely be applying to study economics next year at uni and was wondering what i could do, apart from academics, which will further my application.
i will most likely be applying to LSE, UCL, Cambridge and so i will need a strong application
it will be a gap year for me, i am currently studying for my A2s and hope to achieve AAb-AAA.
do these unis consider retake applicants if i had to pull up my grades next year?
Also what could i do in terms of work experience next year which will help or which type of paid employment will benefit me, i.e. working in a bank, etc
i would be most grateful for any ideas
sam99
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by wannabEconomist)
hi
i will quite likely be applying to study economics next year at uni and was wondering what i could do, apart from academics, which will further my application.
i will most likely be applying to LSE, UCL, Cambridge and so i will need a strong application
it will be a gap year for me, i am currently studying for my A2s and hope to achieve AAb-AAA.
do these unis consider retake applicants if i had to pull up my grades next year?
Also what could i do in terms of work experience next year which will help or which type of paid employment will benefit me, i.e. working in a bank, etc
i would be most grateful for any ideas

I reckon if you do the following, you should get a place with at least one of the above institutions:

1) Make sure you get AAA
2) Make sure you have Maths A2 Level (you may have to teach it to yourself or get a private tutor, but it's highly unlikely you will get a place without it)
3) Read The Economist, Business Section in a good newspaper and read Economics related books.