Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

I ve mashallah complete hands on for phase, pH and mass spectrometry. if anyone would like to ask an the above topics they are welcome. I'll try to solve ur questions and help the ones who seek.

I would like u to help in how the colours of tranistion metals are formed. ( I studied from various books but I am not clear-confusion lingers in my head)

Help!

ReputationRep:
    Firstly, a transition metal is one which has at least one ion that has a partially filled d-orbital. As transition metal compounds have colours, this must have something to do with the d-orbital.
    In general, just like the flame tests, colours are formed due to the movement of electrons from to a higher energy level. In the case of transition metal colours, the colour is seen because the movement of an electron to a higher energy state absorbs some of the visible light. The colours that are NOT absorbed by the electron, are emitted- that's the colour we see.
    The colours form when there are ligands. Hence, the elements dont have a colour.
    When a ligand "bonds" to a transition metal ion, it causes the d-orbital-the 5 sub levels of the d-orbital- to split. This splitting depends on which ligand is present. That's why different colours are seen when transition metal compunds are disolved in different solvents.
    When the d-orbital splits, some of it is at a higher energy level than the rest of it. So an electron moves to the higher energy part of the orbital, absorbing some light as it moves. The colours of white light that the electron does not absorb is emitted by the solution, and is what we see.
    • Community Assistant
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Study Helper
    (Original post by Dal)