Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Law Magazine watch

Announcements

Are there any law magazines you can subscribe to? I have had a look around but cant find any

ReputationRep:
    We have copies of the 'New Law Journal' which comes to our library which is quite useful '(www.new-law-journal.co.uk). There is also the Lawyer (www.thelawyer.com) - but I have no experience of it.

I have subscriptions to the Economist and TIME but I am glad you have posted this as I would be interested to hear what people recommend for a law magazine.

ReputationRep:
    Harvard Law Review. :p:

The only ones that I'm really aware of are the ones mentioned by Mike.

Almost any Law tutor will probably tell you just to read a good broadsheet newspaper (The Times, Telegraph, Guardian) and the Times Law supplement that I think comes out every Tuesday.

ReputationRep:
    You can also sign up for myriad legal news alerts and articles from the lawsoc .... www.lawsoc.org.uk

ReputationRep:
    There's also Lawyer2B (I know, the most horrific title ever) which is the student/undergrad edition of The Lawyer. It's alright - I picked up a couple of editions at various uni open days and they were quite helpful. Had details on mini-pupillages, getting a vac scheme/work placement at magic circle law firms, lists of who to contact at various chambers/firms, lists of training salaries and qualifying salaries, etc. But I have no extensive knowledge of the magazine.

ReputationRep:
    I have subsriptions to Counsel magazine and The Barrister.

ReputationRep:
    Personally, I thought Lawyer2B sucked!

ReputationRep:
    Not sure about generally, but the copy I picked up was helpful. Might just have been that one though.

ReputationRep:
    Best to just wait until you get to university. In the meantime you can look up all the latest news on their websites: www.thelawyer.com, www.legalweek.co.uk, www.chambersandpartners.com

ReputationRep: