Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi

Im a second year history student considering what postgraduate courses to apply for next year, I want to move into law once I graduate -Idealy eventually train as a barrister in criminal law. Now now I need your advice on what kind of post graduate training to take. The CPE then the BVC seem to be the most common route, but surely a masters in law is better than the CPE? The CPE has basically been descibed as a law degree in a year whereas a masters is one stage beyond a law degree.

What is the best route, im aiming to get on the Bar Vocational Course, considering my aim, would I be wasting time and money doing a law masters?

ReputationRep:
    I think you confused LPC with CPE (Common Professional Examination). LPC is not a law conversion. It is the solicitor's equivalent of BVC.

ReputationRep:
    Yes your right mistake corrected!

ReputationRep:
    As a history student you would NEED to do the CPE before the BVC, and hence the CPE would be much more beneficial than a masters!

The CPE is a law degree in a year and any non-law graduates wishing to go into law -whether it be to become a barrister or solicitor -MUST complete it. The LPC and BVC are more vocational courses and can only be undertaken once the CPE has been completed, except of course if your a law graduate.

See www.lawcareers.net for further info about conversion etc...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Hypograde)
    As a history student you would NEED to do the CPE before the BVC, and hence the CPE would be much more beneficial than a masters!

The CPE is a law degree in a year and any non-law graduates wishing to go into law -whether it be to become a barrister or solicitor -MUST complete it. The LPC and BVC are more vocational courses and can only be undertaken once the CPE has been completed, except of course if your a law graduate.