How dangerous is motorcycling?

Watch
SillyEddy
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
I've been a car driver for around 2 and a half years now, and I think I'm fairly good at it. I try to be as sensible as I can and I have never come into bother through my driving. But I still massively prefer the idea of motorbikes instead of cars.

Naturally, they are more dangerous machines because of their lack of protection, but I'm wondering how accurate the statistics are. I see a lot of young motorcyclists doing dangerous things (bad filtering, nailing the throttle to overtake absolutely everything) and I wonder how safe motorcycling actually would be for a safe rider.

I don't doubt that some experienced riders will make the occasional mess of a manoeuvre and fall/crash, but what about the general statistics for it? Are there a lot of dangerous riders who cause the statistics to be unfavourable for motorcyclists?

Are there any numbers on it? The number of collisions caused by, or caused to, motorcycles?
Crazyd943
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Hi there,

Being a motorcyclist myself, I can give you a little information.

However observant you are in a car, expect to work on it!

That's all I can give you relevant to a car, as I have never owned one!

I bought a motorcycle with the intention of commuting, with the odd trip to enjoy the newfound freedom. The decision to look at bikes over a car was purely financial. I spent my time as a rider obeying laws, and common sense, contrary to popular opinion of young riders.