The Student Room Group

So basically I realized my degree is utterly worthless...

So I'm doing an English and American Literature degree at Goldsmiths College, University of London, and in my 3rd year, on track for a 2:1, I've come to the realization of just how worthless my degree is in the 21st century and it's really starting to scare me. I have a girlfriend I love, friends I love, a home I love, and it's all going to end in the summer of 2013 and I have no clue what I'm going to do. I've discovered no great passions, I have no desire to teach people and lead them into the same trap I fell into; I took the course because I wanted to write and wanted to broaden my reading base in the hope of becoming a better writer. What I discovered was that the best writers never studied literature, or did so on the side of something like finance or the sciences. In fact, they actually did all sorts of stuff and wound up writing because they loved reading, because they didn't have the distractions that people in the 21st century have, like movies, TV, video games etc., that people had been reading and writing for ages and it was one of the major sources of cultural knowledge.

Basically, I'm feeling screwed and utterly hopeless. No jobs want a literature major, no industries have use for a literature major, there are no internships open for literature majors, and aside from analytical BS I haven't actually gained any skills. So, somebody please tell me something that will give me some modicum of optimism about my increasingly bleak future. Somebody please contradict me.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Let me just say firstly that there are many degrees out there that are way more worthless than a literature degree.