The Student Room Group

Are finding life hard as a textile design student/grad? Ask here for some advice

Hello there students/ recent Graduates!

I am a graduate professional designer who has a degree in Textiles who has lots of time for students :biggrin:

I am on here to talk to you/ help or advise you on things with your courses/ projects if you are feeling low/ stuck/ fed up/ or just need someone to talk too.

I've been there
, (got through it and so can you! ) But I know how hard and tough it is to be a student - especially in this economic climate. All of the work that is expected/ the money they expect us to grow on a tree...and the hours they think we can magic up out of thin air to fit in our studies, on top of having to work just to keep our heads above water.

Don't worry - it's a time of our lives we'll all go through if you become a student, but it's also very rewarding and builds our futures to higher heights.

If you want to talk to me, please feel free. I'll be here to help. :smile:

M. Glass
Reply 1
OMG!! You have no idea how happy I am to see this! :eek: :biggrin:

I'm a Textiles student in my 3rd year of uni and I feel like I'm not going to gain any career from it. :s-smilie: I love everything textiles especially print and weave, biggest wish is to become an international textiles designer but I can't even get work experience/work placement to even see what that will be like, most fashion textile jobs or experiences are just for pattern cutting pros and packing fabrics in boxes. My tutors don't even know what to do with the students and they hardly help. Loads have dropped out and I saw nearly everyone in my class have a breakdown. I got so ill due to stress and I felt like a complete failure all because I got a B or a C grade (so silly I know):rolleyes: