Hair suddenly incredibly knotted when wet - falls out when brushing!

Watch
Leighcakes
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I've never had any issues with my hair - it's always been pretty knot-free, it's fairly fine and thin and just below my shoulders in length. However, lately, when coming out of the shower it's just RIDICULOUSLY knotted. I have to spend about 20 minutes brushing it through before I can blow-dry, and by then my hairbrush is filled with stray hairs that have come out. I'm really worried it'll start to show that I'm losing hair.

I've not changed shampoo or conditioner, not had any drastic hairstyle change, I've been using the same heat-protective spray for 5 years and I've lived in the same house so it can't be the difference between going from soft/hard water. I really don't know why this is happenng but it's making my life a living hell. It takes me about 45 minutes to do my hair now when previously it'd take only 20.

I've tried de-tangling spray, which does nothing. I've tried combing it in the shower when the conditioner is in and that just gets the comb stuck in my hair and the knots worse. I've tried leaving it to dry naturally for a little bit before brushing it, but that just makes the knots dry together and even harder to brush out. I'm stuck for solutions.

What can I do? Has anyone had the same issues or know of any miracle cure? I think I'm going to go mad... :confused:
n.m0rg
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago