Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone, I'm studying 3 Sciences at Alevel but not maths and I am predicted AAA for A2.

I was wondering if I would be able to apply for the Chemical Engineering foundation course at Newcastle even though I am predicted AAA at A2.

I would also consider the foundation courses for Chemical engineering at Manchester or Nottingham as well. Has anyone done this before? If it means anything, I have 1 weeks of work experience at the Chemistry and Chemical engineering department of Queens university Belfast.

I could not take maths at alevel as I didn't do Additional maths. However, I love physics and chemistry and I would love to study chemical engineering!

ReputationRep:
    You HAVE to do additional maths to do A-level at your schools? That's terrible.

Email those departments and ask.
    It would probably be much cheaper just to take a year out and self teach yourself A level maths and then apply next year for a ChemEng course. Maybe a year in industry and do the maths A-level at the same time? The foundation year is meant for those who did humanity so will also include all the physics and chemistry you've already done and the fees aren't cheap.

ReputationRep:
    I'm in a similar boat. However I'm only doing chemistry, no maths or physics!
    I didn't think fees would be an issue as the foundation year (year 0) is integrated?

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep: