Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Questions for anyone working in a "Big 4" accounting firm Watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm starting to research career options after uni, and was having a read through of this thread here:

http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/show....php?t=2189547

The OP's views there seemed pretty controversial but it brought up a few points which I have questions on, as well as in general. It would be great if anyone currently working in one of the big 4 firms could provide some answers!

1) Do you need a mathematical background? I've looked into this and from what all the employers say, you don't. They'll accept anyone from any degree, and I spoke to a few current employees who told me all numbers are entered into a computer programme anyway so maths and doing calculations doesn't really come into it. Is this actually true? I'm currently doing a degree in modern languages, and the last time I did maths was at GCSE, where I got a B, so not great.

And to be honest, I had never considered a career in finance or accountancy until recently - the reason I am considering this path is due to shallow things such as money, job security and prestige. Horribly shallow, I know. I do have a slight interest in it, but at the moment I cannot tell if it's all down to an actual deep interest in accountancy, or if it's because I've been seduced by the idea of having a respected well-paid job. So if I were to apply, Realistically, would I struggle?

2) On a related note, what was your own motivation for applying for accounting? Were you genuinely fascinated by it before starting?

3) What is the "point" of the ACA exam? I've heard that the companies will train you up, so is the exam waht this entails? And what can I do with the exam if I pass it? What is the "application" stage of the exam, and how is this different from the "knowledge" stage?