Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    From a young age I have loved and admired art, drama, creative writing and poetry. Throughout my school years Art and Design has been the subject I truly enjoyed and excelled in. I chose my secondary school for the well-equipped and diverse curriculum of the arts department. It was whilst in 6th form studying for my AVCE in Art and Design that I was able to gain a greater knowledge of different innovative ways to work with textiles, ceramics, metal, wood, painting, 3D and computer aided design, my hard work and dedication resulting in an A and a B. I am currently studying at Manchester Metropolitan undertaking an Art and Design BTEC Foundation Course. Working with different people was very inspiring and resulted in giving me new ideas. Nevertheless, I have also had to work independently and under pressure at times, as there have been deadlines to be met. I have enjoyed working as a team, especially showing our resulting “maquette” to an audience together with a lighting and music production. I was enthralled with our trips to London visiting many art galleries such as the Tate (turner prize), Tate Modern, Zandra Rhodes Fashion and Textile Museum and the British Museum. I was particularly intrigued with the Saachti Gallery, which had a unique, ultramodern character to all its exhibitions. I am immensely inspired by Pop Art and some of my briefs have been influenced along the lines of Roy Lichtenstein, Andy Warhol, James Rosenquist, Vivienne Westwood and Zandra Rhodes.

Fortunately I have had the opportunity to travel to various countries. Kwa Zulu Natal in South Africa impressed me particularly, as I experienced a different world such as indigenous tribal life, African wild life in huge Game Parks, breathtaking scenery, poverty etc. African culture permeates into mainstream society and influences design throughout the world.