Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am a male mature student aged 32 at uni and I seem to have (against my better judgement) fallen for one of the non-mature students on my course (who's aged 20) and I'm a bit conflicted about what to do about it. We get on well, have stuff in common, etc etc and I'd say she's pretty grown-up for 20 (a lot more than I was at her age) and normally I wouldn't hesitate in asking someone like her out.

Having said that I really don't know what she'd say - probably no as I suspect she'd be out of my league even if you took the age gap out of the equation, although that wouldn't usually stop me as I think it's better to get rejected and move on rather than nurture an unrequited crush in silence.

So, I just wondered whether people thought it would be appropriate to ask her out or not, and what they'd do in my situation...

cheers mdears

ReputationRep:
    She's 20 and you say she's mature. A 12 year age gap when you're both adults isn't really a problem in my opinion. There's no harm in asking her - as you say, you'll regret it if you don't.

ReputationRep:
    Go for it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Rascacielos)
    She's 20 and you say she's mature. A 12 year age gap when you're both adults isn't really a problem in my opinion. There's no harm in asking her - as you say, you'll regret it if you don't.
    Thanks for the reply - assuming I ask her out, if you were in her situation and you weren't interested, how do you think you'd react? I really don't want to get a reputation as a kind of sleazy older dude hitting on the young students which I guess if she took it the wrong way would be how it looked.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ansolon)