Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi! I'm first year IB student and I am interested in studying law at university. It has sparked an interest in me from a young age but I don't have a very good knowledge of it and want to find out more information about it. I am a fairly all rounded student, I think I did fairly well in my gcse's (3A* 3A's 3B's and 3's) but I would like to know from someone who is currently studying or has studied law if they think that I would be capable of it studying it. Is the course demanding? What kind of lifestyle is needed from the student etc?

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    my cousin does law at dundee and he said its a lot harder than alevel

ReputationRep:
    I like to think it is, just like all other subjects are harder at degree level than at any level before. Do they like it?

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Lots of reading, but very enjoyable. Of course, there are boring modules in it, but then that's the same with any course. Overall, i'd say it's well worth it.

If possible, i'd definitely suggest taking it at A-level before hand if possible.

ReputationRep:
    I don't take A levels. I'm an IB student, and the IB doesn't offer Law as a subject

Posted from TSR Mobile
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    More reading than other Arts an Humanities subjects and probably a higher chance you find something bit dull, due to qualifying system, but this also means you sometimes find you really enjoy modules you weren't expecting to. I like that you get to improve so much though the course, as most have never studied it before.

I don't think the lifestyle is vastly different to any other subject, I know lots of Law students who are fully involved in sport, music, politics etc. at uni. It's not like some professional courses (Medicine, Nursing etc.) where you have essentially a 9-5 job with commuting and everything.

ReputationRep: