Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I need to get hold of an A level in Maths ASAP. I am in my final year at University, doing history, and want to take a masters in economics, so I need an A level in Maths. I don't really know where to start, so if you could answer any of these questions I would be very grateful!

- Which distance learning college is best?
    - Is it worth doing a distance learning course, or is it better to teach yourself and then sit an exam?
    - How does one go about organizing to take the exams?

Thankyou all!

ReputationRep:
    What do you mean by distance learning?

When do you need the A level by? Do you want to do a Masters straight away, and so want to sit both AS and A2 levels in the summer (as you're too late to sit any now), or do you want a year or two out and then come back and do the masters then?

As I don't know what distance learning means, what I'll say is do one of two things:

1) If you want to study it while you are at uni, i.e for this summer, it will have to be a mixture of home study and some at a school/college. I really wouldn't recommend this as you've not done Maths for almost 5 years so it'll take a while to get used to it.

2) If you want to do it in the year out, again, I'd recommend signing up to your local college or something and sitting it then. You'll just be doing Maths so this gives you time to a) learn it properly and b) work part time to save up for your masters or gain experience for a job after your study.