The Student Room Group

i think ive upset her

thought Id posted about this already but im not sure what happened - so forgive me if duplicated and mods merge if necessary

Hi -

Im a mature male student on a music course and recently asked one of the younger female students to go out for a drink/coffee with me. I really like her and have a bit of a crush on her. She said no, and messaged me on Facebook giving her reasons, including that she thought the age gap was too big, and whilst she thought we got on, she would feel uncomfortable about seeing me on her own without friends around. I replied, respecting her reasons but explaining why I really liked her, and that this had been a very big step for me - shes a really nice person, talented musician, intelligent and artistic and has gorgeous eyes. Also, I told her I was leaving the course to go on another course nearer to where I live and that I would never forget her - which is true I think she is one of the nicest women I have ever met.

Also I thought it was better to go elsewhere as I was afraid of making myself and her uncomfortable. No kind of sexual stuff. I really have kind of 'romantic' feelings for her. She didnt reply any further - fair enough. I sent one more message just after Christmas saying I had had a nice Christmas and hoped she had too and was getting over my crush but that I really must stop looking at her facebook image - big mistake I think. I have the feeling she thinks Im some sort of freaky pervy, predatory, sexual harassing, older bloke. This is completely not the case, Ive never done anything like this in my entire life and did so after a great deal of soul searching and taking lots of advice. People saying youv'e got to at least ask and tell her how you feel otherwise the crush feelings will fester. Talk about unintended consequences!