Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have somewhat average GCSE's - a few a's but mainly b's and c'sNow I have resat my A levels with no success. Failed both times and the odd ones I passed were E's.... pretty mediocre. I didn't work , I hold my hands up and expect it.However I am now doing a BTEC Applied Science Level 3 extended diploma. I am working hard for it too! I am now on track for distnictions.My relevant experience: I have no work experience but I have been a Police Cadet for a while and I am now training with a local force to become a Special Constable (volunteer police officer) , the question is would I be accepted for law?If it helps im looking at these unis: Oxford Brookes , Kent , Surrey , Sussex , Reading , Birkbeck , College of Law , BPP , Essex , HertfordshireWould the fact that I resat a levels and failed? doing a btec? and in science? go against me.Many thanks in advance.

ReputationRep:
    Sorry for lack of spacing. Bloody tablet

ReputationRep:
    Okay so, what are your A levels? Law school's like to see progressional Academic strength, if missed at GCSE, the minimum for a career in Law and a mid-top range firm is around the ABB mark. If you are looking for a career at the Bar or to become a Solicitor, you need to be aiming for a Red-brick Uni. Equally among the choices you have listed, Sussex and Reading ask for AAB-AAA, with Ox Brookes and Essex i believe asking for ABB, therefore it may be imperative that you resit and work towards getting good A levels, Although equally if you do achieve a distinction this may not matter. Finally, im not sure on the extent to which you being a Police cadet "for a while" will help your case, with that perhaps more verging on the criminology route.
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by manty)
    you need to be aiming for a Red-brick Uni.