Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Gap year...where to get the money Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I am currently in my last year of A levels and am going on a gap year to africa! BUT I need to raise £6000! Has anyone got any ideas for fundraisers or where I can get grants from etc?

Any help would be really appreciated

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Sorry as this is really no help to you at all, but it drives me mad when people do charity fundraisers to pay for their holidays! Far easier said than done, but shouldn't you focus more on getting a job to pay for it instead of "how can I get someone else to pay"?

(And before you try and justify it by saying you'll be "volunteering" etc. - you could do that here. The reason you chose Africa is because it's fun - hence why I see it as a holiday!)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by callum9999)
    Sorry as this is really no help to you at all, but it drives me mad when people do charity fundraisers to pay for their holidays! Far easier said than done, but shouldn't you focus more on getting a job to pay for it instead of "how can I get someone else to pay"?

(And before you try and justify it by saying you'll be "volunteering" etc. - you could do that here. The reason you chose Africa is because it's fun - hence why I see it as a holiday!)
    I am actually working as a teacher in a school while Im out there so I won't have time to travel. I have done it here and I am now doing it in africa to get a wider perspective. It is all work experience for the university course I am doing.

I wouldn't ever want to use money people had given me for my own sight seeing. I already have a job and work in all my spare time when I'm not studying.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by elle1995)