Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi!
    I'm a third year humanities student, and I'm hoping to apply for my NCTJ course after uni finished (2014 as I do a placement year). I want to do a fast-track course, and I don't want to do a masters which includes accreditation.
    What I'm struggling to work out is which is actually the most highly regarded course. As I understand it, I could study at a private college (like Press Associates), where the course will cost around £4000, or at a FE college (like Lambeth) where it will cost around £1000. As a Londoner, Lambeth (rated 2nd of FE colleges) is appealing to me, but I wonder if anyone can tell me anything more about the differences or respect given to the courses?

At the moment my top courses (in no particular order) are:
    Press Association training - London/Newcastle
    News Associates - London/Manchester
    Highbury College - Portsmouth (I understand this to be a good one??)
    Lambeth College - London

If anyone could help I'd be really really grateful. Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Same position as you !
    I'm leaning towards press association as I have heard good things

ReputationRep:
    I'm going into my second year at Bournemouth, it's NCTJ accredited (it does the NCTJ degree) and it also does a broadcasting qualification on top of your degree

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    I believe the Masters at University Of Ulster, Coleraine is the top rated post-graduate degree in the UK for Journalism but you might not want to come across to NI

ReputationRep:
    What are the postgrad NCTJ MAs at Sheffield and Cardiff like?

Submit reply
Turn on thread page Beta
TSR Support Team

We have a brilliant team of more than 60 Support Team members looking after discussions on The Student Room, helping to make it a fun, safe and useful place to hang out.

Updated: September 1, 2013

students online now

800,000+

Exam discussions

Find your exam discussion here

Poll