Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

For "should" we can use deber, for "could" we can use poder, but what about "would"? Watch

ReputationRep:
    If we conjugate deber and poder with "I" we get "debo" and "puedo", or "I should and "I can". But is there a verb "would" meaning "to give advice" in Spanish, similar in meaning to, I guess, "recomendar"? E.g. "I would tie my left shoelaces first".

In other words, I want the Spanish verb "would" which is separate from an indication of the conditional tense, denoted by adding the suffix "-ría", "-rías" and so on. Just like we have should, could and would in English as verbs, we have deber and poder and a missing one. I'm a beginner in Spanish, so please forgive me if my use of the language doesn't immediately make sense

ReputationRep:
    'Debo' and 'puedo' mean 'I must' and 'I can/am able to' - to say 'I should' and 'I could' you'd use the conditional tense - 'debería' and 'podría'. To make a sentence using 'would' you need to put the verb into the conditional tense (infinitive of verb + ía, ías, ía, íamos, íais, ían). Your examples about 'to give advice'/'I would tie my shoelaces' confused me a bit... but you don't directly translate 'would', but use the conditional tense instead

I hope this helps/makes sense!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by special1ne)
    In other words, I want the Spanish verb "would" which is separate from an indication of the conditional tense, denoted by adding the suffix "-ría", "-rías" and so on. Just like we have should, could and would in English as verbs, we have deber and poder and a missing one. I'm a beginner in Spanish, so please forgive me if my use of the language doesn't immediately make sense