Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Advice before university: Computer science degree for web desing/development? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I 'm new to this forum so not sure if posting in the right section...

I am currently a college student and I am planning to go to university this September, to study computer science.

I am quite passionate and enjoy working with stuff like web design and digital graphics. I have mostly learned the skills and knowledge of HTML and CSS independently in my spare time as I found a lot of interest towards it. I also have a lot of skills in using Photoshop- creating logos, editing photos etc.which I really like. College studies have also helped me to develop my skills and knowledge in these areas further.

I also find interest towards programming/ coding such as PHP for web development- which I have recently started learning/exploring the basics of. And other stuff such as software programming in visual basic which I have started learning in college.

In the future I want to be a web designer and developer as I really like both of the subjects.

As I hear and read a lot that in web design/development a lot of people are self thought and in some cases university degrees and not that important. As I have already achieved a lot of my skills in this area through self-learning based on my own interest I guess I would do fine. From the other side people keep telling me that with a degree it is much easier to build a career and earn a decent wage.

So I really need advice for what I should do. If I was not to go to university what would the down sides be and vice versa.
    What are your thoughts/advice?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by al3ks)
    Hi, I 'm new to this forum so not sure if posting in the right section...

I am currently a college student and I am planning to go to university this September, to study computer science.