Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm not a regular around here, but thought this would be a good place to turn for advice.

I'm off to the LEC open day on the 19th Jan at Lancaster Uni to take a look around the department and make a choice on whether to apply or not. I'll be taking the masters part-time due to other work/family commitments, but I'd just like to know what other previous students out there thought of the course overall and what they thought of the department overall?

I'm just looking for a non-biased view, because obviously on the open day, the university will be selling the course to you.

Many thanks for reading!
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Hey there, I'm applying for this course for 2013 entry too (I'd been thinking of starting a thread like this myself in fact)
    I'll be interested to see what people think. I'm currently an undergrad at lancs and I know one person on this course, but I've not gleaned too much about it from him other than it's really good. I spoke with Hugh Tuffin (the guy who runs it) and he was suggesting that there's a fair bit of maths (thermodynamics and fluid physics) involved, which if you come from a very mathematical background like I do is a good thing. But I know that a lot of people aren't comfortable with that kind of thing.

I'm planning on going on the open day on the 19th too.

PS: I can tell you about the university, if you're curious about that. I can't say much about the department though as my undergraduate is in physics.

ReputationRep:
    Hi, thanks for replying!

I'm glad I'm not the only one wondering about all of this.

Thanks for the info, I don't come from a very heavily mathematical background. My undergraduate is in Physical Geography and Geology, however I do have A-levels in Maths and Physics though so I might need to refresh on those!