Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my first year studying economics. I need to choose a module for this term and have narrowed it down to one in finance and one in the econ department. Right now, the econ one sounds more interesting but the finance one is a prerequisite for finance modules in future years. I'm also fully aware that finance is a popular sector for econ graduates and I'd like to keep my options open. So how much do employers care about module choices (1st year bear in mind)? If its not important I'll choose what I want to do right now, but I should also be practical I think, so if choosing the finance option might help me in the future, I'll do that (plus its supposed to be quite easy).

Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Short answer

Yes, it matters.

Long answer
    It depends on the field of study and the likely industry you want to end up in. I was rather naive at university and kept choosing modules I'd love, so mechanics and fluid dynamics. Unfortunately these modules have little to do with the real world unless you're planning on becoming an engineer, working as a meteorologist or a professor. The other option was statistics, which was used straight out of university. A lot of programmes are extremely useful to employers and I cannot understate the importance of some exposure before going ahead with applications.

As an example, in my second year I didn't do the stats module. They used minitab to do a huge project, and I really regret not doing that module because a) it was easy and I'd have scored a 90% average in my second year, and b) the entire project was useful as a basic grounding to using statistical packages.