Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Basically, I am in my 1st year of sixth form all my subjects but Economics are going badly. I know I can pick up Chemistry and Biology with work but English Lit is just too much. I want to apply for Finance and Economics at Lancaster and a few other unis. My question is how much will unis care if I dropped English and picked up another subject at AS level in A2?
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    Well, most unis will expect you to have 3 full A Levels, and many will ask for a fourth subject at AS. So you will find your options limited if you don't offer that. You will also find that the work is easier at AS, so if you're struggling in subjects now you'll probably struggle more next year and may wish you didn't have this extra AS alongside. That's why most students drop a subject at AS - the work for 3 subjects at A2 is challenging enough on its own.

However, if you know now that you want to do this, it might be possible for you to start working towards the new AS now. You might even persuade your school to let you take one module in June, which will lesson your workload for next year slightly. But even if not you can make a headstart by studying on your own over the summer.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Juno)
    Well, most unis will expect you to have 3 full A Levels, and many will ask for a fourth subject at AS. So you will find your options limited if you don't offer that. You will also find that the work is easier at AS, so if you're struggling in subjects now you'll probably struggle more next year and may wish you didn't have this extra AS alongside. That's why most students drop a subject at AS - the work for 3 subjects at A2 is challenging enough on its own.