Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

TV/Film Production (tech side) - most useful degrees Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello! Hope you've all enjoyed your Christmas break

Here's my question:

I'm in my last year of university and I'm taking A-Levels that give me the opportunity to pursue degrees like Physics or any engineering course (save Chemical Engineering). I initially applied for Physics to top unis and have four offers, but I've always had an interest in film and TV production, mostly looking at the tech side of it (i.e. camera operations, audio, lights, tech assistance).

At this particular moment, I have no idea what I want to do with my life; all I know is that a Physics/Engineering degree is the best way to start off for me.

I'm wondering.. if I were to try developing a career in media production, what kind of degree would be more useful for me, or would any of them be useful to me at all? I know that people say a degree in Physics opens up a lot of doors to you, but I was thinking that considering I'm looking at technology, maybe electric or electronic engineering would be a better idea, or maybe even mechanical engineering..?

Any advice will be appreaciated. This has been on my mind for so long and I've still got no idea what I'm doing :P

Also, out of curiosity, in media production, how does one become a project manager? Do you have to actually have a degree in project management, or is there a way of working up from, say, a runner, to a PA and end up managing whole projects or accounts? That's possible, right?

Thank you all in advance for the advice

ReputationRep:
    Choose a course that includes practical work placements with employers.
    See : http://www.york.ac.uk/tftv/